Victoria University of Wellington's
2008 Parliamentary Internship programme

POLS 428, the Victoria University of Wellington's Parliamentary Internship programme, provides a limited number of selected postgraduate students with opportunities to gain insights into:
* the parliamentary process;
* the roles and responsibilities of Members of Parliament;
* the functions and activities of parliamentary research units;
* the conduct of select committees; and
* the activities of parliamentary parties.

The course provides a means for students doing either postgraduate Honours degrees in Political Science, Public Policy, or International Relations or, in special cases, a Master of International Relations (MIR) degree to learn about the parliamentary process through first-hand involvement within the institution of Parliament itself. As in all postgraduate courses, the course also seeks to strengthen the ability of students to carry out independent research and to prepare research papers.

More than thirty students applied to do POLS 428 in 2008. After a rigourous selection process which included interviewing the applicants in order to assess their suitability as potenial interns and trying to match students' skills with the needs of Members of Parliament, twenty students were accepted as POLS 428 2008 Parliamentary Interns. The interns and the people for whom they are working are shown in the following Table:

Jessica Adams
Jessica Adams,
an intern with
the Hon. Steve Chadwick, MP

Steve Barnes
Steven Barnes ,
an intern with
Nicky Wagner, MP

Dylan Bird
Dylan Bird,
an intern with the
Hon. Damien O'Connor, MP

Chloe Dallaway
Chloe Dallaway,
an intern with
Dr Wayne Mapp, MP

Laura-Lee Frings
Laura-Lee Frings,
an intern with the Rt. Hon. Winston Peters, MP

Michael Hemmingsen
Michael Hemmingsen,
an intern with the Hon. David Parker, MP

Polly Higbee
Polly Higbee,
an intern with
Tim Barnett, MP

Morgan Horwood
Morgan Horwood,
an intern with the
Select Commitee office

David Kipnis
David Kipnis,
an intern with
David Carter, MP

David Lynch
David Lynch,
an intern with Dr the Hon. Lockwood Smith, MP

Catriona MacGregor
Catriona MacGregor,
an intern with
Charles Chauvel, MP

Gina Manning
Gina Manning,
an intern with
Heather Roy , MP

Daniel Miles
Daniel Miles,
an intern with the Hon. Tony Ryall, MP

Sophie Mills
Sophie Mills,
an intern with the Hon. Darren Hughes, MP

Jessica Phillips
Jessica Phillips,
an intern with the Hon. Marian Hobbs, MP

Liam Rodden
Liam Rodden,
an intern with the Hon. Chris Carter, MP

Hana Snook
Hana Snook,
an intern with
Metiria Turei, MP

Kate Stone
Kate Stone,
an intern with the Hon. Margaret Wilson, MP

Micheal Warren
Micheal Warren,
an intern with
Chester Borrows, MP

Jackson Wood
Jackson Wood,
an intern with
Sue Kedgley, MP

Every year, the Speaker of the House of Representatives gives a prize to the best POLS 428 Parliamentary Intern. Pictured below is Raukura Spindler, who was an intern with Steve Chadwick, MP, in 2007, and who received the Speaker's Prize from the Speaker, the Hon. Margaret Wilson, MP, during a special ceremony held in Parliament on 12 March 2008.

Speaker's prize 2007
From left to right: The Hon. Margaret Wilson, MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives;
Raukura Spindler, winner of the Speaker's Prize for 2007; and the Hon. Steve Chadwick,
Minister of Conservation and Minister of Women's Affairs.